Is Trump an Anti-Semite? A History…

Daylin Leach
5 min readMay 22, 2024

Donald Trump and I agree on one thing. I should get my head examined. Although we do differ on the reasons for that.

He thinks my need for cranial scrutiny stems from the fact that I am Jewish and I wouldn’t vote for him if I was being waterboarded. I think it’s more about my belief that I can walk through walls, but only of Toyota dealerships, that France is in grave danger of being misplaced, or that people named “Phil” don’t really exist. Maybe we both have a point.

Trump supporters tell me that Jews should all vote for Trump because of Israel. I note that Trump has been absolutely awful for Israel (the subject of another article) and that most Jews aren’t single issue voters. Jewish-Americans care about and vote based on lots of issues: Inflation, national security, which candidate is going to force them to change their gender, and then change it back. It is in fact an anti-semitic slander that Jews care more about Israel than they do about the country they live in.

But there is a more important reason that 75% of Jews vote against Trump. Specifically, because he is a rank, grade A, Top of the Pops, unabashed anti-semite. Maya Angelou famously said “If someone tells you who they are, believe them”. And Trump has been telling us, “Hey, ya know what? I don’t like Jews!”. in so many ways for such a long time, I think it’s time to…

--

--

Daylin Leach

Long-time state House and Senate member, author of PA’s Medical Marijuana law, also creator of “shit-gibbon!” Comedian, professor, father of 2 awesome children!