Should We Replace Judges With Artificial Intelligence?

Daylin Leach
5 min readJan 26, 2023

Should We Replace Judges with Artificial Intelligence?

There are a lot of things about the world these days which justifiably cause people to freak out. We’ve got impending nuclear war, imminent ecological collapse, a new Phil Collins album (not necessarily in that order). The menacing list of horribles we are facing is seemingly endless. People are literally screaming “ENOUGH!!!”. And I understand that. But because of my poor ability to “read the room”, I feel that this is the perfect time to add one more!

Have you heard of “ChatGPT”? Basically, it is an artificial intelligence program which writes text to match whatever instructions you give it. So, for example, if you asked it to write a eulogy in the style of Doctor Seuss, it might come back with something like

I miss Tim when I’m on a plane

I miss Tim when I’m on a train

I miss Tim like a fox

I miss Tim when he’s in a box

I miss Tim when he starts to smell

I miss Tim when he’s down in hell…

You get the idea.

ChatGPT can write text and meld styles significantly more sophisticated than this. Sadly, I can’t. So you get what you get. But if you were to ask it to write a…

--

--

Daylin Leach

Long-time state House and Senate member, author of PA’s Medical Marijuana law, also creator of “shit-gibbon!” Comedian, professor, father of 2 awesome children!